Celebration Assembly

29 May 2019

On Friday 24 May, we held a Celebration Assembly which celebrated the achievements of our students throughout the year.  The assembly was opened by our Year 11 Student Councillors, Evangeline Armstrong, Grace Kang, Gabriel Martinez Rivera and Josh Miller.

Our Year 10 music students performed ‘Seven Nation Army’ and our Year 7 and Year 8 music students performed ‘Bellyache’ from the musical ‘Billy Elliot’.  There were also photo displays of our students and their work.

The following achievements were recognised:

Gifted and Talented Visual Art Ambassadors

The role of a Gifted and Talented Visual Art Ambassador is to:

  • Promote leadership and a strong sense of belonging within the school and arts community
  • Assist when hosting events and exhibitions as well as general organisation
  • Mentor and be a role model for other art students
  • Develop ideas for school and community art events and projects

Two Art Ambassadors were nominated for each year group.  Congratulations to the successful candidates as follows:

Year 7
Zoe Heath
Amy Ly

Year 8
A’Janae Brockhoff
Jordan de Beer

Year 9
Jonny Smith
Kaitlyn Pope

Year 10
Yuna Sangil
Nathan Hamilton

Year 11
Meg Bradsell
Maddison Curry

Year 12
Torren Whisson
Harriet Williams

‘Have Sum Fun’ Maths Competition

Congratulations to our Maths students who were awarded certificates in the ‘Have Sum Fun’ competition.


Our Year 7 English students successfully progressed past the initial judging in the 2019 Schools’ Writing Competition.  This year, the competition was held throughout primary and secondary schools within Australia and over 10,000 entries were received.  Balcatta SHS has been recognised for outstanding student writing with less than 10% of schools showing this level of achievement.  Well done!

Write4fun Certificate

Debating Team

Balcatta SHS have five debate teams competing at Hale School, Wembley – three Year 7/8 teams and two Year 9/10 teams.

The competitions commence at 6.00pm and finish at approximately 9.00pm.  Everyone is welcome to attend to support our students.  Our next competitions are scheduled for:

  • Wednesday 29 May
  • Wednesday 12 June

Year 7
Kaiser Htat

Year 8
Mali Frazer
Gemma Holman
Boni Hockley
Jye Rigby
Chloe Marsh
Jordan de Beer
Lucas Agostino
Aakanksha Dayma
Amani Hashmi

Year 9
James Edwards
Bhavana Joshi
Sadie Nicholson-Nelkoski
Lauren Holman
Rachel Chon
Gabby Velez
Eloise Vlatko-Rulo
Kanika Rawat
Izhary Fortun

Close menu